Friday, 22 November 2013

Saturday, 16 November 2013

16 November 2013: Dawn

The Mixed Pond at Dawn

Parliament Hill Fields at Dawn

The Men's Pond at Dawn

A frosty November dawn on Hampstead Heath. From the top: The Mixed Bathing Pond; Parliament Hill Fields; The Men's Bathing Pond

Sunday, 10 November 2013

10 November 2013: Tree Canopies

Beech Leaves

Birch Canopies

Beech Canopies

Two Tree Hill

Lime Canopies

From the top: Beeches at the Beech Grove; Birches at Kenwood Corner; Beeches at the top of the Hockey Field; Oaks at Two Tree Hill, Sandy Heath; Limes at Sandy Lane, West Heath

Saturday, 9 November 2013

9 November 2013: East Heath Lodge

Pryors Field

East Heath Lodge, seen from Pryors Field. These houses on what is now East Heath Road were built in the late 18th century, on land that was part of Hampstead Heath once (like much of Hampstead Village). The village was not expanded beyond this point, and later both Pryors Field and Preacher's Hill, the open land on the other side of East Heath Road, were preserved by the Hampstead Heath Act 1871.

Sunday, 3 November 2013

Saturday, 2 November 2013

Wednesday, 30 October 2013

30 October 2013: Two Tree Hill

Two Tree Hill

These two oaks on Sandy Heath are older than the woodland that surrounds them. When this part of Hampstead Heath was dug up for sand in the 19th century, it was to difficult to remove them, and so they were preserved. They now stand on a little hill, and you can also still see how their roots were exposed during the sand digging.

The two trees can be seen in this old picture on the London Geodiversity Partnership website.

Monday, 28 October 2013

Sunday, 20 October 2013

20 October 2013: Maple Tree

Maple Tree near the Sports Ground

This colourful tree is at the Sports Ground; the two paths that can be seen are the Lime Avenue and the road to the Viaduct.

Friday, 4 October 2013

Sunday, 29 September 2013

29 September 2013: Pink Michaelmas Daisies

Michaelmas Daisies

Pink and white Michaelmas Daisies are growing on Pryors Field. They look pretty here, but they are an invasive species, kept under control to not spread further.

Friday, 27 September 2013

27 September 2013: Conkers

Conkers

There are plenty of conkers coming down - these here are from a group of horse chestnut trees near the Vale of Health Pond.

Tuesday, 24 September 2013

Saturday, 21 September 2013

21 September 2013: Sloes

Sloes

Sloes, the fruit of the blackthorn, are now ripening. Blackthorns can be found in the hedgerows on Hampstead Heath. These slows are growing on a tall shrub between the two Cohen's Fields, near the Goodison Fountain.

Friday, 20 September 2013

Wednesday, 4 September 2013

4 September 2013: Silver Maple

Silver Maple on the Tumulus Field

I believe this tree, which is at the top of the Tumulus Field, is a silver maple; it's one of the first to start changing colour.